Almost A Year Later

Posted on April 25, 2012

0


And I cannot believe that around this time I was preparing to go to México! It is amazing to think that a year has almost passed me by. It is around this time that other students are looking to go through the same program I went through and it is weird to see things from the other side. I have been giving advice to the people going, and remember how nervous I was to go to another country.

Rosie’s Advice For Mexico

  • Have a command of the language if you are going for an extended period of time. You need it for everything: ordering food, going to get your laundry done, asking for directions, shopping, getting a taxi
  • Study up on weather and cultural norms so you can pack appropriately. You don’t want to stand out.
  • Be culturally competent. Yes people from the US, I am talking to you. Don’t expect to be treated special because you are American, and PLEASE don’t try and criticize the culture. That’s not your job. Your job is to appreciate it for what it is.
  • Don’t be afraid. Take a deep breath and tell yourself you can do it.
  • Ask for help. There is no shame in that, and when you do, you will be grateful that people kept you well-informed

With that said and done 30 days until Vietnam, YIKES! I hope I can get everything together in time!

Posted in: Non-Descript