Day 12

Posted on June 17, 2011

0


My trip is almost halfway over, and I cannot believe it has flown by as fast as it has. I am already getting ready for my mid semester exam!

Today was pretty interesting, we were supposed to have a cooking class today, but the person couldn’t come, so instead we took our free time into our own hands. The girls and I (including the head of all things international at La Salle) took a trip to the bookstore today where I bought a book of poetry by Pablo Neruda (one of my favorites) for like $5. I think the best part of that trip was meeting some random guy who goes to La Salle DF. He didn’t know any English and wanted to trade English lessons for guitar lessons. He was very enthusiastic about everything.

After the bookstore, we went to a churro place that was close by. We ordered 12 churros, 2 tostadas, 2 quesadillas and a round of shakes, smoothies or sodas for everyone. It was a lot of fun. We realized today that we only have two weeks left as a group, so we are going to do our best to enjoy it to the fullest.

I am starting to notice that random bits of my food kind of taste like grass. I don’t know if it is me, or if the food really does have some grass in it. This is slightly distressing and I hope this is not a trait of Mexico, because I don’t particularly enjoy the taste of freshly mowed lawn in my bread.

Where we will go and what we will do, I have no idea, but hopefully it ends up being awesome, because in two weeks I have to go back home and work to make some money for the next adventure, and then find more work for the school year so I can continue to save for the next adventure. As the saying goes, “Where there is a will there is a way, you just really have to want it… even if it means engaging in some illegal activities” (No mom, this is not a declaration of intent, I’m just saying that I really like to travel and am willing to work for my trips, yes, legally).

Posted in: Mexico City